The San Sebastián International Festival will take place from 18th to 26th of september 2015 for the 63rd time. Besides many sections and films as for instance „Made in Spain“, „Horizontes Latinos“, „New Directors“, „Culinary Zinema“, „Pearls“ or „Movies for kids“ and many more,  the Festival created in 1986 the Donostia Award, awarded to a great film personality in recognition for their work and career.

The first one was awarded to Gregory Peck (1986), followed by award-winners Glenn Ford (1987), Vittorio Gassman (1988), Bette Davis (1989), Claudette Colbert (1990), Anthony Perkins (1991), Lauren Bacall (1992), Robert Mitchum (1993), Lana Turner (1994), Susan Sarandon and Catherine Deneuve (1995), Al Pacino (1996), Michael Douglas, Jeremy Irons and Jeanne Moreau (1997), John Malkovich and Anthony Hopkins (1998), Fernando Fernán-Gómez, Vanessa Redgrave and Anjelica Huston (1999), Michael Caine and Robert de Niro (2000), Julie Andrews, Warren Beatty and Francisco Rabal (2001), Jessica Lange, Bob Hoskins, Dennis Hopper and Francis Ford Coppola (2002), Isabelle Huppert, Sean Penn and Robert Duvall (2003), Woody Allen, Annette Bening and Jeff Bridges (2004), Ben Gazzara, and Willen Dafoe (2005), Max Von Sydow and Matt Dillon (2006), Richard Gere and Liv Ullman (2007), Antonio Banderas and Meryl Streep (2008), Ian McKellen (2009), Julia Roberts (2010) and Glenn Close (2011), John Travolta, Oliver Stone, Ewan McGregor, Tommy Lee Jones and Dustin Hoffman (2012), Carmen Maura and Hugh Jackman (2013) and in 2014 Benico del Toro and Denzel Washington.

Benicio del Toro received the Donostia Award at the 62nd edition of the San Sebastian Festival. The actor played the leading part in „Escobar: Paradise Lost“, closing film of the Pearls section.

Denzel Washington opened the 62nd San Sebastián Film Festival with „The Equalizer“. The actor received the Donostia lifetime achievement award:


Four films presented in the last years edition of the San Sebastian Festival reap a total of 13 Goya Awards!

The 29th the Goya Awards, granted by the Academia de las Artes y Ciencias Cinematográficas de España, were announced in february. Four Spanish films premiered at the last edition of the San Sebastian Festival were the big winners of the night.

La isla mínima (Marshland) garnered most awards: Best Film, Best Director (Alberto Rodríguez), Best Leading Actor (Javier Gutiérrez), Best New Actress (Nerea Barrios), Best Original Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Original Score, Best Art Direction and Best Costume Design. As you will remember, La isla mínima already bagged an award at the 62nd edition of the Festival with the Best Actor (Javier Gutiérrez) and Best Cinematography Awards.

The film by Carlos Vermut Magical Girl, winner of the Golden Shell and Best Director Award at the Festival, carried off the Goya for Best Leading Actress (Bárbara Lennie).

In the Best Documentary category, the winner is Paco de Lucía. La búsqueda, by Curro Sánchez Varela, premiered in the Festival’s Zabaltegi section.

Relatos Salvajes (Wild Tales) the film by Damián Szifrón presented in the Pearls section following its premiere at the Cannes Festival and which was chosen by the audience as Best European Film, landed the Best Foreign Film in the Spanish Language Award.



More to come very soon – here exclusively on hennesy.cc!

Weitere post